Me Before You 

15507958Why, Why, WHY!!? I never cry while reading books, it is very very rare but after finishing this book I was a mess which isn’t really what you want while on holidays. TIP: Do Not Read This Book While You Are On Holidays! Maybe read it over a weekend where you have at least one day to recover but it may take longer than that.

So I picked this book up because I saw the trailer and wanted to read the novel before seeing the movie – probably because I’m one of those people ‘the book was better than the movie’ people who sit there and point out what is missing from the movie, I try not to be but I can’t help it. Well I’m just glad I read it before seeing it in the cinemas so at least I have a heads up that I will most likely be an emotional mess in public and should wear waterproof mascara that day.

giphy

 
Me Before You is the story of Clark who after losing her long term job at the local cafe takes a job as a carer for Will who became quadriplegic after a motorbike accident. Will is not coping well with his disability and his mother hopes that Clarks unique view on life will help him come to terms with his new circumstances. Clark goes into her new job hoping to help Will see a new take on life but what unexpectedly happens is Will inspires Clark to take more chances and start living her life to the fullest.

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

I loved the characters – all of them. They all have there faults but as the story progresses and shows each characters point of view, you start to understand how each person is dealing/coping under extreme circumstances .
Go into this book with an open mind and a pack of tissues. Me Before You is an emotional rollercoaster that will stay with you long after you have turned the final page. The story is filled to the Brim with emotions and deals with difficult subject matter. Jojo Moyes writes in a way that shows respect to the characters and I feel give them a story they deserve – No Wonder they are turning it into a movie!

“Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.”

I highly recommend this book to people looking for a story with substance and not your ordinary love story – I actually wouldn’t call it a love story but I’m not sure what else to call it.

 
StarforblogStarforblogStarforblogStarforblogStarforblog Stars

 
There is a sequel but I can’t see myself reading it, I just feel like it would take away from what a great story Me Before You is, but I could be wrong.

Cant wait for the movie – Heres the link to the Movie Trailer if you haven’t seen it already

me-before-you-poster

2 thoughts on “Me Before You 

Leave a comment